How to revert to Microsoft Office for Mac 14.1.4 after upgrading to SP2

If you need to revert to a previous version of Microsoft Office for Mac after a bad update, it’s a fairly easy process as long as you have a backup on Time Machine or other backup like a CCC or SuperDuper clone. If you do not have a backup copy of your Microsoft Office 2011 folder, you will need to re-install Office.

Note: Before you revert, you will need to delete the Exchange and IMAP . . .

Continue Reading: How to revert to Microsoft Office for Mac 14.1.4 after upgrading to SP2

When an update goes bad

The recent 12.2.7 update is a good reminder that you need to be prepared if an update causes issues on your computer. Neither Microsoft or Apple include an an uninstall feature for updates. These are the instructions included in every Microsoft updater:

To remove this update This update does not include an uninstall feature. To restore your application to its original state, delete it from your hard disk, reinstall it from your original installation disk, . . .

Continue Reading: When an update goes bad

Quit all Microsoft applications before backing up

To successfully backup your Entourage database, be sure all Microsoft applications and the Microsoft Database daemon are quit before backing up. New to Entourage 2008, Office Reminders are not quit when the Microsoft Database daemon is quit. . . .

Continue Reading: Quit all Microsoft applications before backing up

Alternative method to use Entourage and Time Machine

Previously, I explained how to “Time Machine” your Identity. Guy, one of the commenters, pointed out a way to easily add your Identity to your Time Machine backup without the hourly/daily additions.

The previous tutorial could be used by Tiger and Leopard users, but this is Leopard only.

Exclude the Microsoft User Data folder in the Time Machine options, which will stop it backing up every hour. Create an “Entourage Backup” folder – which is . . .

Continue Reading: Alternative method to use Entourage and Time Machine

Entourage and Time Machine

Time Machine is a breakthrough automatic backup feature that’s built right into Mac OS X Leopard, but for Entourage users it’s recommended that you exclude your Identity from Time Machine.

Time Machine creates hourly backups and will create a copy of your database every time anything new is added to Entourage. This can quickly fill up your Time Machine drive.

One option is to add your Identity to your original Time Machine backup then exclude . . .

Continue Reading: Entourage and Time Machine